Brisbane Tutor in English, Essay Writing, Maths, Politics, Reading, Society and Culture, Sociology

I am a 23 year-old female, from Scotland, who graduated from the University of Strathclyde with a Second Class Joint Honours Degree in Politics & Sociology in 2012. I would best describe myself as easygoing and reliable. I consider myself a good listener with excellent people and communication skills. At home in the UK, I worked full time for HM Revenue and Customs and tutored English, Politics and Sociology at the weekends. I am currently living in Melbourne where I am working as an au pair in the Docklands from Monday - Thursday. I also previously worked as a nanny in Brisbane for a couple of months. I have often been told I am fantastic at working with young people and already have experience of tutoring at a wide variety of levels. I have primarily been working with with two Standard Grade English students who are pleased with the progress they have made under my guidance. With my help, both have moved from obtaining a No Award in their prelims to gaining a 2 and 3 mark respectively in their actual exams. I have returned to tutor both students for their Intermediate 2 and Higher exams. (Higher examinations are equivalent to Year 12 in Australia). I also tutor a Sociology student attending Leeds University via email where required, including marking and providing improvement suggestions for essays, advising on how to write conclusions and also overseeing the writing of a dissertation. This student went on to graduate with a 2:1 Honours degree. I have worked with other university students in the past on the subjects of essay writing and exam preparation. More recently I have been working with a child of 8 who has been struggling with reading. Tutoring in this instance has consisted of paired reading sessions combined with targeted word practice. This method has substantially improved the student's reading comprehension skills. I am also TEFL qualified, which means I am qualified to teach English as a foreign language. I am able to offer tuition on Mondays - Thursdays from 7 or 7:30pm onwards (depending on location) and at any time of day from Friday - Sunday.

  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Maths
  • Politics
  • Reading
  • Society and Culture
  • Sociology
Expertise on above subjects
  • Private Tuition
    (One to One tuition)
  • Group Lessons
    (Teaching two or more students in one session privately)
  • Home Visits
    (Visting students home for private lessons)
BA (Hons) Politics and Sociology 6 Scottish Highers (Year 12 equivalent) at Grades A and B 8 Scottish Standard Grades at Grades 1 and 2
General rates information
$20 per hour
Phone and website contact

My Location

Proximate Location

Contact tutor

Sign up

You are not logged in. To post a message to tutor you will need to login.

Rate this listing
Sign up

You are not logged in as Student. To rate this listing please login as Student.

255 characters remaining (255 maximum)