Cairns Tutor in Business Studies, Communication Studies, Computing, Creative Writing, English, ESL, Essay Writing, Management, Maths, Psychology, Reading, Society and Culture, Sociology, Special Needs

Hello, my name is Mel and I've been teaching and tutoring students and clients/business people for over 20 years both internationally and nationally at the tertiary level, and for the last 7 years at the primary and secondary school level. I love tutoring it and it gives me great joy to help learners overcome their barriers to learning and become more successful at whatever they are trying to improve! For the last few years while working on my Psychology degree I have been focussing on the psychological aspects of learning and doing more investigation into the barriers that impede, or block, learning (e.g. anxiety, fear of failure, bullying, low confidence, test or subject specific anxiety, etc) and have had some very good success in minimising these barriers to learning whilst rebuilding confidence and skills proficiency. I run 1:1 sessions in my home that usually start at an hour for younger people and can be longer for older, more mature university and TAFE students. I like to run the sessions here because there are no distractions, it is a lovely, quiet environment, and all of my teaching/learning resources are on hand here. In saying that, if I am tutoring a young person having trouble in year 9 Maths B, we would use that young person's textbook and homework as the core learning resource as this is what the young person is having trouble with. We always use the materials the person is using at present in their own learning institution and I supplement them with my own resources. This way the curriculum is adhered to and the problem areas targeted directly. As for availability, I am flexible. Right after school usually is good for the littler ones, the older ones I usually schedule for the later afternoon and into the early evening. The more mature ones can go even later than that, especially when assignments are due (e.g. Uni/TAFE). Just give me a call and we can work something out that suits.

  • Business Studies
  • Communication Studies
  • Creative Writing
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Management
  • Maths
  • Psychology
  • Reading
  • Society and Culture
  • Sociology
  • Special Needs
  • Statistics
Expertise on above subjects
  • Private Tuition
    (One to One tuition)
  • Teaching Studio
    (Proper classroom setup inside your home or elsewhere)
Working with Children Blue Card * Bachelor of Arts in Business Economics (University of California, Santa Barbara, USA) * Bachelor of Science in Psychology (Hons), (University of Southern Queensland, Toowomba) * Master of Science in Management Systems & Sciences (University of Hull, Yorkshire, UK) * Cert IV in Training & Assessment (TAE 40110), TAFE, Cairns * Cert in Teaching English as a Foreign Language (Trinity College of London, UK) * Cert IV Telephone Crisis Supporter (Lifeline, Cairns) * Golden Key International Honour Society (top 5% of students in five countries)
General rates information
$40/hour (yrs 1-9) $45/hour (yrs 10-12) $50/hour (TAFE/Uni)
Phone and website contact

My Location

Proximate Location

Contact tutor

Sign up

You are not logged in. To post a message to tutor you will need to login.

Rate this listing
Sign up

You are not logged in as Student. To rate this listing please login as Student.

255 characters remaining (255 maximum)